Enabling/disabling tracing from a script

Apr 12, 2011 at 3:09 PM

Hi,

I'm not sure if this is the right forum for this kind of question, so if it isn't, please advise.

After successfully instrumenting my application using NTrace, I want to give the user a script for enabling/disabling tracing.

After doing some research, I've found the logman.exe utility, which seems to be the exact tool I need. I started playing with it and noticed that in order to create/start trace session, I need to give the provider name/guid as a parameter (-p option) - I tried using the guid I set as the EtwProviderId, 'logman create' seemed to return successfully, however after running my application and stopping the trace session, I got a trace file containing just headers. I ran 'logman query providers' and didn't find my application's guid among the listed providers.

If I understand correctly, I need to register my applications etw provider in some manner. Where can I find any guidelines about it? or am I missing something here and should go on another direction?

Thanks,

--Eran

Coordinator
Apr 12, 2011 at 6:52 PM
Hello! This is just as good a forum as any!

It should be something along these lines (I'm using '9e9fa021-37a6-46e7-b42a-b035b1736ca8' for my provider ID, yours will of course be different):
logman create trace "Test" -p {9e9fa021-37a6-46e7-b42a-b035b1736ca8} 255 7 -o test.etl
logman start "Test"
<run your app>
logman stop "Test"
logman delete "Test"

This will result in the trace spew being written to a binary file named "test(some unique number).etl." In general, this is what you'd have a customer zip up and send you; it's going to be reasonably compact, as it's just the raw data and does not contain any formatting. Once you generate/obtain this file, you need to get it formatted for human consumption. To do this, we can use TraceView (as mentioned in the NTrace site) or you can use the tracefmt tool: